McCarville reserves Scotties spot with win over Burns in Northern Ontario final


Krista McCarville of Thunder Bay, Ont., defeated Krysta Burns of Sudbury, Ont., 6-4 to win the Northern Ontario women’s curling championship and book her spot at the national championship next month in Calgary.

The Scotties Tournament of Hearts will take place February 16-25 at the WinSport Event Center.

The teams were tied 2-2 after four ends, but McCarville scored two key points in the fifth and then held Burns to a single in the sixth. McCarville then singled in the seventh and eighth, limited Burns to a single in the ninth and ran her out of stones in the 10th.

Clancy Grandy of the Vancouver Curling Club won the British Columbia women’s curling championship with an 11-3 victory over Corryn Brown of Kamloops.

Grandy gave up one in the first end, but scored five in the second and stole two in the third and one in the fourth, then took the win in the eighth end.

Selena Sturmay of Edmonton stole two points in the 10th end to beat Kayla Skrlik of Calgary 6-5 and win the Alberta women’s curling championship.

The teams were tied 3-3 after six ends, Skrlik took a 5-3 lead in the eighth and Sturmay scored a point in the ninth.

Winnipeg’s Kaitlyn Lawes beat Beth Peterson 9-8 to win the Manitoba women’s curling championship.

Lawes led 6-3 after five ends and secured the victory when Peterson, also of Winnipeg, managed only a single in the 10th end.

Danielle Inglis of the Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club defeated Carly Howard of Toronto’s High Park Club 8-7 in 11 ends to win the Ontario provincial women’s championship.

King led 4-2 after five ends, but Howard scored two in the sixth and one in the seventh to take a 5-4 lead. King tied it 5-5 in the eighth and Inglis scored two runs in the ninth to go up 7-5. King scored two points in the 10th to force the extra end.

Laurie St-Georges of Glenmore/Laval-sur-de-Lac beat Noémie Verreault of Chicoutimi 8-4 to win the Quebec women’s curling championship.

St-Georges scored two points in the third and fourth ends to take a 4-0 lead. The teams traded deuces in the fifth and sixth ends, and St-Georges stole one in the seventh to take a 7-2 lead. Verreault scored two points in the eighth, but after St-Georges scored one in the ninth, the gloves came off for handshakes.

Charlottetown’s Jane Nicolina Wells DiCarlo beat Amanda Colter 9-8 in 11 ends to win the PEI women’s curling championship. Power led 7-6 after eight ends, but DiCarlo scored twice in the ninth, tied Power up 8-8 in the 10th, then won it with a single in the extra end.

Stacie Curtis of St. John’s defeated Heather Strong, also of St. John’s, 11-8 in the Newfoundland and Labrador women’s provincial final. Curtis scored four points in the ninth end to erase an 8-7 deficit.

The men’s national championship, the Montana Brier, will take place March 1-10 at the Brandt Center in Regina.

WATCH l The Pancontinental Curling Championships will be held in Lacombe, Alberta:

Curlers ready to put on a show in Lacombe, Alta., at the Pan-Continental Curling Championships

Curlers Darren Moulding, Chelsea Carey and Colin Hodgson are behind the success of Lacombe, Alta.’s bid. to host the 2024 Pancontinental Curling Championships. They plan to incorporate an athlete-centered approach into every element of the event.


Source link

Scroll to Top